Main content

Citizens elected to change the form of City government in November 2010. In the new municipal structure the Mayor is the city government's chief executive and the City Council is its legislative branch. The Mayor is not a member of the City Council, but may participate in City Council meetings.

The Mayor of Colorado Springs represents the City on local, state and national levels. He is authorized to sign legal documents on behalf of the City. In his absence, his duties are performed by the President of the City Council.

The Mayor appoints all department directors except for the City Auditor and the Executive Director of Colorado Springs Utilities, who are appointed by the City Council. The Mayor proposes a City Budget and the Council approves or changes it.

The City Council is Colorado Springs' legislative body. It sets policies, approves budgets, establishes tax rates and passes ordinances and resolutions to govern the city.

The Colorado Springs City Council is made up of nine officials who are elected for four-year terms. Citywide residents elect three councilmembers at-large. Citizens in each of six equally-populated quadrants elect an additional councilmember to represent them. Councilmembers elect a President from among themselves to preside over their meetings, and a President Pro Tempore to fill in when the President is absent. All nine councilmembers are paid an annual stipend of $6250.